To Aru Kagaku no Railgun – Episode 2

railgun1ii
Long time no see?

railgun2ii
My blood type is O+. If you’re an eligible and willing donor, please contact me asap. I’M IN DIRE NEED OF A TRANSFUSION!!!!

railgun3ii
Saten doing her daily rounds. Gee, she’s so shameless. ;3

railgun4ii
Yummy…

railgun5ii
Impressive loot, Shirai!

Too bad Kuroko isn’t the kind who likes to share otherwise she would have made a fortune out of that photo collection.

railgun6ii railgun7ii railgun8ii
If there is one who rules over even the soul of Academy City’s No.3 Level 5, it’s the impeccable Dorm Mistress. Break the rules and you’re as good as royally screwed.

railgun9ii
VISUAL CHECK!

railgun10ii railgun11ii railgun12ii
This incident is a stern reminder one of the biggest misjudgments I made about Kuroko’s personality. Before reading this chapter, her prior image as a dignified individual led me to believe she’s too proud and stubborn to show the genuine sensitive side of her; that she would never expose her weaknesses to anyone, not even to Mikoto. After watching her pour out her true feelings, I was a bit surprised that Kuroko is just like any other normal girl her age – susceptible to childish emotions despite being usually mature when it comes to dealing with more srsbzns issues. Yeah, it might seem this development didn’t do her any favors in that it only made her look like a spoiled crybaby but to me, her personality spectrum just became a little bit wider. :)

railgun13ii railgun14ii railgun15ii
That was a sweet back story. Contrary to what Kuroko believed, Mikoto did not forget. It’s nice to see her having her own views on what she considers as important in the commemoration of her camaraderie with Kuroko.

railgun16ii railgun17ii railgun18ii
And I just love how she has a way with words. Mikoto may be frustrated with Kuroko’s overzealous nonsense 90% of the time but beneath all that understandable exasperation lies authentic trust, respect and affection for her partner.

railgun19ii
PWNED (by accident).

railgun20ii
Phwoar… ●REC

railgun21ii railgun22ii
Teleportation at its most fearsome.

railgun23iirailgun24ii
LOLOL @ Kuroko’s moans. It helps that Arai Satomi is a self-confessed どM herself.

Thoughts
To be honest, I have conflicting opinions about this episode. While it features one of my most loved mini chapters, I’m not sure if moving it forward to a point as early as Episode 2 is such a good idea as this side story is meant to focus on fleshing out Kuroko and Mikoto’s personalities + relationship further after the events of the Level Upper arc. Besides not touching on the Manga’s plot yet, my other main concern was the handling of Kuroko’s character. Having more of her perverted yuri yuri antics is always good but I felt the writers went a bit overboard with her obsessions. Yes, we know she’s overly infatuated with Mikoto but instilling too many of the same gags this early on, let alone for an entire episode, will make her look as though she’s a shallow character who only seems to have Oneesama, sexy lingerie, aphrodisiac and Happy Skinship Time on her mind. I wouldn’t be surprised if some viewers who were introduced to Railgun through the Anime would immediately hate her and pass her off as nothing but an annoying child. Trust the lot who read the Manga, Kuroko is not like that. In fact, she’s arguably one of the most diverse and interesting characters in Railgun besides Mikoto. Then again to prove this statement, the writers will have to adapt and manage the relevant chapters well.

On the pro side of things, since this episode was based on one of my favorite chapters, I’ll turn hypocrite and say yes, it was still a very enjoyable watch overall. I couldn’t stop giggling at the fanservice they threw at us, whether it’s Kuroko trying to execute “Operation Seduce Oneesama” or BiriBiri panicking over her underwear disappearing (although I could say this only within the security of having read the Manga?). Capitalizing on fanservice is always a smart move as long as it isn’t done excessively. However, as fun as this episode was, I really wish they would move on to the first canon story arc but it doesn’t seem to be the case next episode.

22 thoughts on “To Aru Kagaku no Railgun – Episode 2

  1. Sazae

    Your one of the few who actually sing praises about that Kuroko girl. I dont read the manga so I dont know much of what the story is about. I was about to go all hating her but you said thats not how she always is so maybe its ok to be a little more open minded about her character and not hate her so much.

    Reply
    1. Keiri Post author

      Glad to see you’re willing to watch her a little longer. :)

      Just wait till they get to the first meat of the story. Hopefully her image will be redeemed then.

  2. Anon

    Im not sure about that. Kuroko come across as annoying to me. Her voice is annoying. Her attitude is annoying. Everything about her is annoying. If people want to stab her for the crap she did in this episode I don’t blame them. I find it hard to even like her.

    Reply
    1. Keiri Post author

      That’s only for this episode though. For that, I think it was a risky move for the writers to go overboard with Kuroko’s obsession here. They did her personality injustice imho.

  3. baka~

    i think the reason why most people like kuroko is because of her annoying voice… it’s so annoying you can’t get it out of your head! but on other side of things, i kinda enjoyed this episode. at the least they showed how deep their relationship was, a fact never fully explored in index. this makes me wonder if kuroko knew about the sisters project and what her opinion of it was. after all, it was touma who saved misaka at that crucial moment and not kuroko.

    Reply
    1. Keiri Post author

      i think the reason why most people like kuroko is because of her annoying voice… it’s so annoying you can’t get it out of your head

      Reverse psychology FTW!

      Btw, is her annoying voice a good thing or a bad thing for you?

      at the least they showed how deep their relationship was, a fact never fully explored in index

      Yes, for the Index Anime at least.

      Kuroko and Mikoto’s relationship was explored a bit in depth in a later volume of the Index light novels though, but that story arc has yet to be adapted into the Anime. Hopefully we’ll get Index Season 2 sometime soon. All of the stories beyond where the Anime’s adaptation stopped (at Volume 6) has a much better storyline.

      this makes me wonder if kuroko knew about the sisters project and what her opinion of it was. after all, it was touma who saved misaka at that crucial moment and not kuroko

      I doubt Kuroko knew as you know how secretive Mikoto can be about her personal problems. Touma on the other hand, coincidentally stumbled upon this case and decided to involve himself in it. Btw at this point in time in Railgun, the Sisters arc has yet to take place. Everything that has happened so far in Railgun (up till Episode 2) supposedly happened before Touma met Index.

  4. Rei

    i like kuroko’s voice LOL. the way she slurs the “onee-sama~” always makes me smile. as my friend puts it she’s “squeaky and all lesbian” along with her personality and that really makes us love her. and just gosh damn her teleportation powers add up to more. the more you listen to her, the more her voice grows on you anyway hehe. loved how her seiyuu was able to actually maintain the kurokoness within the dramatic, heartouching scenes. but then o gosh, poor, poor kuroko. every plan she makes backfires.
    love saten.
    chibi mikoto DO WANT! WHY SO CUTE?!
    DORM HEAD ROFLMAO GOD SHE’S SO … GODLY! DID YOU SEE THAT NECK HANDLING ON KUROKO?!

    Reply
  5. Keiri Post author

    i like kuroko’s voice LOL. the way she slurs the “onee-sama~” always makes me smile. as my friend puts it she’s “squeaky and all lesbian” along with her personality and that really makes us love her

    LOL @ Kuroko’s horny “oneesamaaaa~”.

    I must mention that one of Arai Satomi’s forte is “oiroke chara” (characters loaded with sex appeal). She has demonstrated that before using Code Geass’ Sayoko’s voice and that in itself, is nosebleed worthy. Add to the fact that Arai is a masochist. XD

    chibi mikoto DO WANT! WHY SO CUTE?!

    Omochikaeri! ^-^

    DORM HEAD ROFLMAO GOD SHE’S SO … GODLY! DID YOU SEE THAT NECK HANDLING ON KUROKO?!

    That was downright freaky! XD

    Not even Mikoto, a Level 5, dares to oppose the Dorm Head.

    OFF TOPIC// I watched Ep 1 of Fairy Tail. OMG THE GAR FACTOR + ADRENALINE!! I am soooo watching it! A few familiar faces from Rave! I can’t wait for Erza! *.*

    Reply
  6. baka~

    Btw, is her annoying voice a good thing or a bad thing for you?

    hmmm… i think the definition of good or bad is a bit broad. as far as im concerned, i dont get annoyed by her voice. i don’t like it either. it’s just normal for me. well, if there’s anything i like, it’s the moments where she sounded like a witch when she delivers lines in english such as skinship and private time. i find it the most enjoyable.

    Yes, for the Index Anime at least

    well, at the least, this would spare JC staff from butchering shana as it is.

    Btw at this point in time in Railgun, the Sisters arc has yet to take place. Everything that has happened so far in Railgun (up till Episode 2) supposedly happened before Touma met Index.

    wait. this makes me wonder, i thought cloning takes a ridiculously amount of time to propagate and since accelerator has killed half of the sisters, i assumed that the project happened long before the series even began.

    on other side of things, i recalled touma encountering misaka and index in the 1st ep of index. then, the events in railgun happened between that span of time? or touma and misaka met and battled each other even before index began?

    OFF TOPIC// I watched Ep 1 of Fairy Tail. OMG THE GAR FACTOR + ADRENALINE!! I am soooo watching it! A few familiar faces from Rave! I can’t wait for Erza! *.*

    damn im getting envious now! since my PC is broken, i can’t download fairy tail torrents (even tegami bachi episodes) since this laptop ain’t mine and i can’t blog the recent ep of umineko!

    which sub group did you run after keiri?

    Reply
    1. Keiri Post author

      i think the definition of good or bad is a bit broad. as far as im concerned, i dont get annoyed by her voice. i don’t like it either. it’s just normal for me

      I see. ^^

      As long as you don’t feel like stabbing the screen muting every time Kuroko speaks, I guess that’s ok. XD

      wait. this makes me wonder, i thought cloning takes a ridiculously amount of time to propagate and since accelerator has killed half of the sisters, i assumed that the project happened long before the series even began.

      Ah, my mistake in explaining. What I meant was the Sisters Arc (or in Index’s version – Accelerator Arc) takes place much later in Railgun’s story, although the events of Accelerator killing the Sisters has already started. It’s just that we weren’t shown it happening until later (confusing, no?). Yes, the cloning project happened way earlier. Mikoto unknowingly became a participant in the dodgy experiment as you’ve already known from the events in Index. The catch is, Mikoto doesn’t know what the experiment is about until later. From Index’s POV, you saw that Mikoto already knew about the project. From Railgun’s POV… Well, watch what happens later. Sorry, I won’t spoil unless you want me to. :p

      on other side of things, i recalled touma encountering misaka and index in the 1st ep of index. then, the events in railgun happened between that span of time? or touma and misaka met and battled each other even before index began?

      Touma and Mikoto have fought with each other before Index began. Or to explain further without spoiling Railgun’s plot much, the event of Mikoto chasing Touma downtown in the first scene you see in Index Episode 1 will take place later in Railgun’s Anime version (assuming the writers will adapt it), this time from Mikoto’s POV instead of Touma’s.

      which sub group did you run after keiri?

      Erm… I watched the raws for this. ^^;;;

      But I’ll still be downloading subbed episodes as some of my friends have requested me to help them do so. I’ll let you know which group I think is good in terms of subs + video quality. In the meantime, you might wanna consult Fairy Tail expert, Rei. :)

  7. Rei

    “OFF TOPIC// I watched Ep 1 of Fairy Tail. OMG THE GAR FACTOR + ADRENALINE!! I am soooo watching it! A few familiar faces from Rave! I can’t wait for Erza! *.*”
    YES :D!!!! Dw I’ll be blogging it soon. I was just having the problem of err…. picking…. screenshots… I think it’s well over 120 D: omigosh i went crazy lol. I might have to make the OP/ED screenshots a seperate post T_T

    Reply
    1. Keiri Post author

      That’s great news!

      I’m not sure whether I’ll blog Fairy Tail since my schedule is quite suffocating as it is. Maybe I’ll do filler-y brief ones every now and then fangirling over things which I found awsm (I have a feeling this is going to be Erza most of the time. She looks badass and I’m trying SO DAMN hard not to spoil myself by reading your Manga entries over at your blog XD).

      But under your judgment, feel free to spoil me on one thing: Blue-haired dude in the opening -> He… He looks like Sieg Hart. *_*

  8. baka~

    As long as you don’t feel like stabbing the screen muting every time Kuroko speaks, I guess that’s ok. XD

    that’s quite extreme >.<

    well, i can't even recall hearing a poorly voiced character that drove me to mindless aggression… i think… rest assured, i don't mute my PC even if im hearing annoying characters. sometimes, even annoying voices can deliver amusing and catchy lines… as i said, kuroko saying "private time" and her witch-like laughter is annoyingly good XD

    The catch is, Mikoto doesn’t know what the experiment is about until later. From Index’s POV, you saw that Mikoto already knew about the project. From Railgun’s POV… Well, watch what happens later. Sorry, I won’t spoil unless you want me to. :p

    ah well no spoiling on that part. i only spoil myself on episodes that have aired and not on what will be airing… even if i read wiki about it, i still can’t ‘see’ what occurred. so railgun is basically mikoto’s POV during the course of index. well at least it doesn’t conflict in most parts. so since this is her POV, i’ll be assuming that we get to see episodes in index that includes mikoto in it. i get a feeling that based on some of the opening scenes, we get to see the last ep arc of index told in mikoto’s POV. the one with the freaky girl brought about by esper powers and the goth golem summoner voiced by akeno watanabe? sorry ain’t no expert in that

    Touma and Mikoto have fought with each other before Index began. Or to explain further without spoiling Railgun’s plot much, the event of Mikoto chasing Touma downtown in the first scene you see in Index Episode 1 will take place later in Railgun’s Anime version (assuming the writers will adapt it), this time from Mikoto’s POV instead of Touma’s.

    so touma has been saving the asses of scumbags from mikoto ever since and the one they showed in index was just another encounter and not their first time.

    In the meantime, you might wanna consult Fairy Tail expert, Rei. :)

    any suggestions on the sub groups rei? and will plue be really getting an appearance in the anime or is he/she/it just a fanservice for those who followed rave >.<

    just watched ep 1 and i admit liking the monkey d. luffy x black star attitude of natsu XD

    happy sounds weird… as i hear her say her lines i can't let go of the feeling that she'd say something like 'tacos' ;p

    Reply
  9. Keiri Post author

    well, i can’t even recall hearing a poorly voiced character that drove me to mindless aggression

    Yeah, same here. I only recall mindlessly raging over the characters themselves (e.g. School Days’ sickening d0ucheb@g, Makoto =__=). The seiyuu are just doing their job as instructed anyway. If people want to criticize a character for having an annoying voice, they should blame the director and sound director for employing and directing said seiyuu.

    Until now, I’m quite convinced no one else can do a better job on Kuroko than Arai Satomi. “Private time” is <3.

    i only spoil myself on episodes that have aired and not on what will be airing

    Oh no! Don’t do that! Watch it first! XD

    i get a feeling that based on some of the opening scenes, we get to see the last ep arc of index told in mikoto’s POV. the one with the freaky girl brought about by esper powers and the goth golem summoner voiced by akeno watanabe?

    Not necessarily. That thing you were referring to could be used for something else. Just wait and see. ;)

    so touma has been saving the asses of scumbags from mikoto ever since and the one they showed in index was just another encounter and not their first time

    Yes, that’s right.

    happy sounds weird… as i hear her say her lines i can’t let go of the feeling that she’d say something like ‘tacos’ ;p

    LOL that’s Kugyu for you. Her non-tsundere roles are my faves.

    Reply
  10. Rei

    “happy sounds weird… as i hear her say her lines i can’t let go of the feeling that she’d say something like ‘tacos’ ;p”
    LOL kinda true though but guess it never crossed my mind till now.

    “any suggestions on the sub groups rei?”
    I prefer IEATANIME, but only because they did the manga :] so its like manga translators to anime? can hardly get stuff wrong. for one, they translate “mahoutsukai” as “mage” which is the correct way unlike horriblesubs/cr-ed’s “wizard” – i raged so hard at this translation. So I’ve seen this episode 8 times with HorribleSubs, Mamiko and IEA, but I know that Ryugan have just released. I think my friend is getting that, so I’m gonna check that out soon and compare. CR subbed ones had all the lines, like all of the antagonists lines of his attacks, but IEA had mostly preferable translations. O look I’ve gone and babbled a lot xD…. probably will even more when i get around to cutting down screenshots and posting ep 1 >.>;;

    “and will plue be really getting an appearance in the anime or is he/she/it just a fanservice for those who followed rave >.<"
    Plus will be in the anime yes :D Actually part of the storyline, lol~~ that's the only cross over from Rave.

    Reply
  11. Keiri Post author

    I prefer IEATANIME, but only because they did the manga :] so its like manga translators to anime? can hardly get stuff wrong.

    I haven’t checked out IEA’s version yet. Have only seen HorribleSubs, Mamiko and GX​_ST. But now that I know IEA have experience with the Manga, I have a feeling their group’s subs will keep their content as faithful as possible to the original. Thank you for the info on that Rei! I’ll wait for IEA’s version unless you found another which you think is better! :D

    they translate “mahoutsukai” as “mage” which is the correct way unlike horriblesubs/cr-ed’s “wizard” – i raged so hard at this translation

    Gee I was wondering too on why they used “wizard” instead of the more universal “mage”. Even though I haven’t read the Manga yet, somehow “wizard” sounds a bit off even though “mahou tsukai” can be translated as “wizard”. It’ll be a tad odd if the female mages are called “wizards” too. >_>

    that’s the only cross over from Rave.

    Aww only Plue, huh? :(

    Darn it, I was hoping that blue-haired guy in the OP is related to Sieg Hart in some way. I guess that’s only fanservice for the Rave folks. :p

    Reply
  12. baka~

    O look I’ve gone and babbled a lot xD…. probably will even more when i get around to cutting down screenshots and posting ep 1 >.>;;

    not actually, your expertise in the stuff helped me identify which group i should go to… crunchy just sucks ass in some/most translations so i’d be going with the better quality. though i’ll have to see if i can upgrade my PC to match the vid quality (im pissing my PC more and more :( )

    Plue will be in the anime yes :D Actually part of the storyline, lol~~ that’s the only cross over from Rave.

    damn… i kinda miss the guy :(

    Reply
  13. Blacksun88

    this episode is made of win. dorm mistress at full power and kuroko’s pantsu stealing technicque is awesome XD. banzai to kuroko for presenting us a flustering and pantsu-less mikoto ^^

    Reply
    1. Keiri Post author

      kuroko’s pantsu stealing technicque is awesome XD

      This is why teleporters are so fearsome. They can kill you with embarrassment. XD

Leave a Reply

